My date with Procrastination

Recently, I have been feeling too much mental pressure. Today, the stress is way more than every day.

Few hours to go.

1 hour to go

Half hour

10 mins

Do I have enough troops? All my clan mates will be watching over me, this is my first war with my new clan, and they are pretty serious about this. I need to get my priorities straight, its WAR time

Somebody asked me, what I did during my free time, I solemnly said, I play clash of clans. No kidding.5

It is funny though as to how much time I can actually squander on doing things which are absolutely preposterous than doing something which is remotely productive. I keep on proroguing my workload for the next day. Does this mean I am a procrastinator?  Fancy word, eh? Most people did not even know this word, until last year, but they won’t admit, I know I won’t.! But then, there are people like my mother who might think I am not doing anything constructive the entire day or I am not doing ANYTHING the entire day. I don’t think she knows the amount of efforts which I put in to be a sincere procrastinator.2

I have realized finally that this is not a cool word to be referred by, so in my defense , reviewed the dictionary for the exact meaning of procrastination, which is, the act or habit off or delaying, especially something requiring immediate attention but  I don’t have anything that requires my immediate attention. Do I have to save the world with my super powers?  No (I wish I could).

I cannot get out of the tag by merely defining it, when I know perfectly well, how to get out of procrastination as a whole, with my will-power.

Can we actually move on with our lives, study, work, or fulfill our duties, if we keep on delaying our tasks for the future? No.

To write, I have to force myself to sit in front of the laptop, glare at the wall for a few minutes, eat, chat on phone, laptop, browse the net, repeat the above and then somehow I might end up writing something, which I won’t even like to read again and then re-write many times to get something meekly tolerable.

It happens with all of us. Nobody wants to move their ass out of their couches , but people do study and work, anyway. Our will-power is the abetting factor. It makes us do things, out of the ordinary, or even the ordinary. Everybody is trying to make a dent in the universe, by their own little ways.

If somebody told you good things happen to those who wait, it doesn’t. Things don’t happen, people make them happen. All great people did not wait for great stuff or opportunities to come along, they did great things, with their unrelenting willpower as the binding factor, and that made all the difference.

Some of us might still remain devoted procrastinators, I get you, been there , still there , haven’t deleted Clash of Clans yet. This reminds me , I have to go and ‘Procrastinate’.

60 thoughts on “My date with Procrastination

  1. Wandering Soul says:

    Well Done! I loved your images. They go very well with the content.Congrats on your second post! Many more to come. Look forward to your unusual take on Valentine’s Day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claremary P. Sweeney says:

    Birdie – The thing about blogging is that you really don’t have to be great in the beginning. I made so many errors. (and I was an English teacher for years!) But bloggers are understanding and helpful and I’ve learned from them and from my mistakes. It’s the process of writing that is at the core of all of this, because the more you write, the better writer you’ll eventually become. (no matter how lazy you think you might be) Keep posting and visiting and commenting and it will all fall in place. Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

